Commission seeks ideas on single-member Council districts

The Independent Citizens Redistricting Commission seeks public input on Austin’s 10 City Council geographic districts before it begins to draw maps for these districts.

A series of meetings will begin this month and continue into November. The ICRC will conduct three meetings in each Travis County Commissioner precinct. Each of the meetings will focus on the geographic area within the city limits of that precinct.

Austin residents living in the precinct are especially encouraged to attend.

August public meetings include:
• Aug. 14 – 6:30 p.m.
Millenium Youth Entertainment Complex, 1156 Hargrave St.
Focus on Travis County Commissioner Precinct 1

• Aug. 17 – 10 a.m.
Little Walnut Creek Branch, Austin Public Library, 835 W. Rundberg Lane
Focus on Travis County Commissioner Precinct 2

• August 21 – 6:30 p.m.
Travis County Precinct 3 Justice of the Peace Court Building Community Center Activity Room 8656A Texas 71 West
Focus on Travis County Commissioner Precinct 3

• August 28 – 6:30 p.m.
Austin Community College South Campus Mulit-purpose Room, 1829 W. Stassney Lane
Focus on Travis County Commissioner Precinct 4

The 14-member Independent Citizens Redistricting Commission was formed to draw the map for 10 single-member City of Austin Council districts.

About 10-ONE
City of Austin voters approved Proposition 3, a City Charter amendment commonly referred to as “10-ONE” in November 2012. The Charter amendment provides for the election of City Council Members from 10 geographic single-member districts with the Mayor elected from the City at-large, beginning with the November 2014 election.

For additional information about the 10-ONE process visit

Contact: Patricia Fraga, Communications and Public Information Office (512) 974-2969